Lebanese Jester

Me, my Lebanon, and I.com weblog

Beyond comprehension

For the past couple of weeks I have had great difficulty accessing any page hosted by “blogger.com”, especially mine. I have tried with no avail to comprehend why, but came up with nothing. I never claimed to be technically inclined, far from it; still I am in the dark as to why when all the pages I read daily (including mine) are accessible from any other computer but my own.
After having formatted the two PC’s I use (in fear of some unknown virus) and having checked with my ISP provider and came out blank, I have come to the conclusion (maybe wrongfully) that some higher power decided that it would be better if I was denied such a privilege.
I was even advised to use software to mask my IP address and randomly change it via relays or something that is way beyond my comprehension and limited brain, with no success. One alternative I thought I had was to import my three “blogger”s pages onto “wordpress”, even then I hit a brick wall. After many attempts I was left with a “wordpress” page clutter with ramblings from all three “blogger” pages.
So if any of you (few) readers I have, can suggest a course of action to take in order to resolve such a problem; your feedback is welcome.
N.B: This post took over 4 hours to publish.
Thanking you in advance,
A very frustrated Marllionlb.

December 2, 2008 - Posted by | Blogger, High Tech, ISP

7 Comments »

  1. Well my dear friend, the good point now is that sending you some comments will be more easy than ever ! Before with this f..king blogger crappy stuff, it was always a mess with a pop up window and a few thing to re-enter every time before posting anything.

    Now, it’s clean, pure, it’s wordpress (the same blogging system as me … :D)

    PS : It look like you may need some help about the template … look in Apperance section, go to widget, move Archives to the first column, add the “last post” one under it, etc 🙂

    PS² : On that too i’m good, and I’ll help you in 10 days if you need 🙂

    Comment by Ekios | December 3, 2008

  2. Le pb concernait tous les ISP au Liban simplement parce qu’Ogero a eu un pb au niveau de sa connection internationale. Comme pour des raisons géopolitiques, ogero ne veut et ne peut pas passer par la Syrie ou par Israel (ce qui faudrait pour des raisons de redondance technique), on a qu’une seule liaison pour internet via chypre.

    L’invitation sur les blogs libnanews est tjrs ouverte 🙂 (http://blog.libnanews.com pour ouvrir un nouveau blog)

    c’est la mme chose qu’ici, en fait ce n’est pas wordpress mais une version modifiée de wordpress (dsl ekios but you re wrong) qui s’appelle wordpress Mu
    95% du noyau est le même cependant.

    Comme je disais, sur l’autre blog, on a également eu des pb de personnes qui voulaient faire tomber lib mais le serveur s’est bien protégé notamment en obtenant l’IP non forgé de la personne (6)

    Comment by frenchy | December 6, 2008

  3. Je vois pas ou j’ai faux 😉 C’est WordPress, la partie Mu est pour Multiuser. L’utilisateur lambda qui fait son blog sous Mu, fait un blog wordpress, à part entière. La partie Mu concerne l’administrateur 🙂

    PS: passage en 2.7 pour wordpress classic, à voir pour la version Mu, sois prudent si tu fais une migration, et vive les backups 😉

    Comment by Ekios | December 9, 2008

  4. je ne m’inquiètes pas trop 😉

    WordPress et wordpress Mu ne sont pas tout à fait identique ekios. Essaye par ex un test très simple de prendre la base de donnée d’un wordpress MU, tu n’arriveras pas à le faire marcher sur wordpress. Par contre, le site “tient” par miracle.

    Repasse ensuite en Mu, miracle … 🙂

    j’ai tout testé la dessus. Par contre il va y avoir qq chose de gros qui est en préparation coté Mu, c’est buddy press, j’ai testé sur un site tiers qui m’appartient également et ca en jette pour une ptite idée que j’ai derrière la tête 😉

    Comment by frenchy | December 10, 2008

  5. J’irais voir ça tiens Buddy Press 🙂

    Thx.

    Comment by Ekios | December 12, 2008

  6. de rien

    mais pour revenir sur l’ancien sujet, entre wordpress et wordpress Mu, la construction de la base de donnée SQL est différente, la gestion est différente etc…
    95% du noyau est le mme, mais les 5% restants font beaucoup de différence.
    Ce n’est pas la même chose.

    Comment by frenchy | December 12, 2008

  7. I am sorry that you could not publish your work on blogspot.com due to problems with the website.But I am oleased that you have found a domain you are happy with and that you can continue your work here on wordpress.com.And I look forward to reading more of your posts here now on wordpress.Hana,Beirut,Lebanon

    Comment by Hana | December 17, 2008


Leave a Reply

