Lebanese Jester

Me, my Lebanon, and I.com weblog

Can any Lebanese raelate to this ?

In 1979 an English artist got to number 2 in the charts with this following song. Dig up the lyrics and tell me if any of you can, today, relate to this.

And for you lazy arses:

“Don’t start me talking
I could talk all night
My mind goes sleepwalking
While I’m putting the world to right
Called careers information
Have you got yourself an occupation

CHORUS:
Oliver’s army is here to stay
Oliver’s army are on their way
And I would rather be anywhere else
But here today

There was a checkpoint charlie
He didn’t crack a smile
But it’s no laughing party
When you’ve been on the murder mile
Only takes one itchy trigger
One more widow, one less white nigger

CHORUS

Hong Kong is up for grabs
London is full of arabas
We could be in palestine
Overrun by a chinese line
With the boys from the mersey and the thames and the tyne
But there’s no danger
It’s a professional career
Though it could be arranged
With just a word in Mr. Churchill’s ear
If you’re out of luck you’re out of work
We could send you to johannesburg

CHORUS

And I would rather be anywhere else
But here today
And I would rather be anywhere else
But here today.”

September 25, 2009 - Posted by | Music | ,

3 Comments »

  1. I didn’t know Costello!
    Yes, I saw his on the other video…

    Who is Oliver?

    Comment by mc | September 26, 2009

  2. @MC, in reference to Oliver Cromwell (commonwealth,protector of England…etc) who is responsible for the British Army you have today. Another one of Costello’s song that brings back some memories is Veronica. Check it out.

    Comment by marillionlb | September 27, 2009

  3. bon guitariste 🙂

    Comment by mc | September 29, 2009


Leave a Reply

